October 15, 2012

  • Today, choose happiness

    Let go of the parts of life you honestly don’t want.

    I’m not even going to get mad anymore. I’m just going to expect the lowest of the people I thought the highest of.

    When in doubt, make a fool of yourself. There is a microscopically thin line between being brilliantly creative and acting like the most gigantic idiot on earth. So what the hell, leap.

    I know it’s a bit sudden okay, but yesterday was a great day. And I’m sitting on the bus, and I realize that none of my great days in my life matter without you. You’re the one I want next to me when my dreams come true. You’re the one I want next to me if they don’t. As long as I have you, nothing else matters.

    No matter how many plans we make or steps we follow, we never know how our day is going to end up. We’d prefer to know, of course, what curve balls will be thrown our way. It’s the accidents that always turn out to be the most interesting parts of our day, the people we never expected to show up, a turn of events we never would have chose for ourselves. All of a sudden you find yourself somewhere you never expected to be and it’s nice, or it takes some getting used to. Still, maybe you’ll find yourself appreciating it somewhere down the line. So you go to sleep each night thinking about tomorrow, going over your plans, preparing for them, and hoping that whatever accidents come your way will be happy ones.

    I want something else. I’m not even sure what to call it anymore except I know it feels roomy and it’s drenched in sunlight and it’s weightless and I know it’s not cheap. Probably not even real.We’re all made of stories. When they finally put us underground, the stories are what will go on. Not forever, perhaps, but for a time. It’s a kind of immortality, I suppose bounded by limits. It’s true, but then so is everything.

    I’m not going to spend my life chasing people. You want to leave? Fine then, go ahead. Because I’m done with chasing and caring for people who never had interest in me. Nothing lasts and people change. I’ve learned love is hard and life is strange.

    Trouble is part of your life. If you don’t share it, you don’t give the person who loves you a chance to love you enough.

    I didn’t like myself until I met you. I fretted over every little bump on my face, every scar on my arm, every extra pound I saw on the scale. now, every hair that’s out of place and everything that comes out of my mouth wrong doesn’t matter because you’ve embraced me for the way I am.

    Even if the path is a little blurry, keep walking. You’ll focus in when you know what you want, then the picture of your life will be crystal clear. Just don’t ever give up.

    One day, it all catches up with you. Every ended relationship, every tear shed, every broken heart. You pick up the pieces, you brush them off and you put them back together, only each time you need a little more glue. Then just like that, glue’s not enough anymore. The cracks, the holes, the shattered dreams? They’re a part of you. Try as you might, you can’t fix what’s been broken, and you can’t mend what’s been torn.

Comments (10)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *