October 18, 2012

  • I watched it begin again

    Maybe that’s what it all comes down to. Love, not as a surge of passion, but as a choice to commit to something, someone, no matter what obstacles or temptations stand in the way. And maybe making that choice, again and again, day in and day out, year after year, says more about love than never having a choice to make at all.

    One of the things I learned the hard way was that it doesn’t pay to get discouraged. Keeping busy and making optimism a way of life can restore your faith in yourself.


    I am self-conscious too much, I don’t brush my teeth enough, I like to spend a lot, I have very drastic mood changes, and I am often – without realizing it – very mean to those I love.

    I’m the kind of person who follows her own heart, that’s all. I don’t think I’m cynical or naive. I try to trust my instincts. What I look for is some form of truth.

    I think that’s what I find most strange about this world. Nobody ever says how they feel. They hurt, but they don’t cry out. They’re happy, but they don’t dance or jump around. And they’re angry, but they hardly ever scream. Because they feel ashamed. Nothing’s worse than that. So we all walk around with our heads looking down and never look up and see how beautiful the sky is.

    I certainly don’t regret my experiences because without them, I couldn’t imagine who or where I would be today. Life is an amazing gift to those who have overcome great obstacles, and attitude is everything.

    A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.

    Sex appeal is fifty percent what you’ve got and fifty percent what people think you’ve got.

    You can try and hold me back. Build your damn walls, pack sandbags along the edges and yell at the clouds and the rain and the sky to stop. But I will not relent. I will reach you. Because I am the sea. And I will continue to love you, no matter what.

    I have a history of making decisions very quickly about men. I have always fallen in love fast and without measuring risks. I have a tendency not only to see the best in everyone, but to assume that everyone is emotionally capable of reaching his highest potential. I have fallen in love more times than I care to count with the highest potential of a man, rather than with the man himself, and I have hung on to the relationship for a long time–sometimes too long–waiting for the man to ascend to his own greatness. Many times in romance I have been a victim of my own optimism. 

    Hate doesn’t work like love. You have to remind yourself to love.

    It’s one thing to feel that you are on the right path, but it’s another to think that yours is the only path.

    That’s the thing about fashion: You can use it to hide, but it’s only magic when you use it to express who you really are.

    Find a truly original idea. It is the only way I will ever distinguish myself. It is the only way I will ever matter.


Comments (10)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *