May 17, 2012

  • You are somebody’s reason to smile

    I realize that it doesn’t matter to you now. But maybe in a couple years, when you notice what you did, you’ll realize that maybe you had loved me too.


    I know what it’s like to want to die. How it hurts to smile. How you try to fit in but you can’t. How you hurt yourself on the outside to try to kill the thing on the inside.


    Whether it’s the best of times or the worst of times, it’s the only time we’ve got.


    Find someone who can make you smile and don’t give up on them.


    I hope that someday, somebody wants to hold you for twenty minutes straight, and that’s all they do. They don’t pull away. They don’t look at your face. They don’t try to kiss you. All they do is wrap you up in their arms, without an ounce of selfishness in it.


    I usually don’t like thinking about the future. I mean, let’s face it, you can’t predict what’s going to happen. But sometimes, the thing you didn’t expect is what you really wanted after all. Maybe the best thing to do is just stop trying to figure out where your going, and enjoy where your at.


    Whatever you do in life will be insignificant, but it is very important that you do it because you can’t know. You can’t ever really know the meaning of your life. And you don’t need to. Just know that your life has a meaning. Every life has a meaning, whether it lasts one hundred years or one hundred seconds. Every life, and every death, changes the world in its own way. Gandhi knew this. He knew his life would mean something to someone, somewhere, somehow. And he knew with as much certainty that he could never know that meaning. He understood that enjoying life should be of much greater concern then understanding it. And so do I. You can’t know. So don’t take it for granted, but don’t take it too seriously. Don’t postpone what you want. Don’t leave anything misunderstood. Make sure the people you care about know. Make sure they know how you really feel, because just like that. It could end. 


    We’re all miracles. You know why? Because as humans, everyday we go about our business. And all that time, we know the things we love, the people we love, at any time can all be taken away. We live knowing that and we keep going anyway.


    If you want to know where your heart is, look to where your mind goes when it wanders.


    I don’t know what I want to do with my life, I just know I want to do it. I want to see my world, I want to meet every single person breathing on this earth. I want to give everyone a hug or a handshake. I want to make someone’s life a little easier. I want to be different than the people I know, because that’s what makes us beautiful. I want to be absolutely ridiculous before I die. I don’t want regrets. I want to stand for something.


    When you truly love someone, you put their feelings before your own. Even if it means that you’re not the one making them happy. Just seeing that smile on their face is more than enough.


    At the end of the day, when it comes down to it, all we really want is to be close to somebody. So this thing, where we all keep our distance and pretend not to care about each other, is usually a load of bull. So we pick and choose who we want to remain close to, and once we’ve chosen those people, we tend to stick close by. No matter how much we hurt them, the people that are still with you at the end of the day – those are the ones worth keeping. And sure, sometimes close can be too close. But sometimes, that invasion of personal space, it can be exactly what you need.


    I’ll screw up. I’ll push you away if we’re getting too close. I won’t trust you until you’ve proven yourself. I get hurt easily and take a lot of things personally. But I’ll love you with everything I have, and if that isn’t enough, then I’m not enough.


    I’m scared that I’m going to end up alone. I’m scared that I’m always going to be somebody’s friend, or sister, or confidant, never quite somebody’s everything.


    Promise yourself to be strong, that nothing can disturb your peace of mind. Look at the sunny side of everything and make your optimism come true. Think only of the best, work only for the best, and expect only the best. Forget the mistakes of the past and press on to the greater achievements of the future. Give so much time to the improvement of yourself that you have no time to criticize others. Live in the faith that the whole world is on your side as long, as you are true to the best that is in you.


Comments (11)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *